Making AN/PRC Radio Antennas

As you may have noticed by now, the signaller in the command team pack doesn’t come with an antenna. I thought I might help everyone out, and put together a few posts on assembling the various antennae in use by the Canadian Forces in Afghanistan.

This first post covers the 48″ Blade antenna, though in this scale, it’s too small to model the gooseneck. There some good info here.

First things first, it’s time to cut the material – I’ve used 1mm flat styrene from Evergreen Scale Models. These should be available at any decent hobby shop, though this width may be tougher to find. It’s just small enough to be a blade antenna at 28mm.

Based on the specs linked avolve, we know it’s a 48″ antenna – working in 1/48 scale (the closest we’re going to come to 28mm for those of us as mathematically challenged as I am), we know that it should be 1″ long. I cut a little extra to insert into the provided hole in the signallers backpack.

Next, we need to shave down the end so it will fit into the whole. I’ve also mixed up some greenstuff at this point to fill it in, and mock-sculpt the attachment point where it’s poking out of his zipper. I found it easiest to stick the greenstuff in the hole, and just push the styrene strip into it. Then with a moistened scalpel blade, I just cut/pushed putty around to get it to where it is below.

Anyone that’s ever carried one of these man-breaker radios also knows how the antenna flops forward. I tried the first time to get a good curve on it with a hairdryer – too hot, and it just warped like a spaghetti. The second time around, I tried using some pressure with a rounded hobby knife handle, and this did the trick enough to make me happy.

Now it’s just a matter of waiting for the putty to dry, and painting it with whatever your preferred army green colour is! I painted the connector piece (greenstuff) with Vallejo Model Colour Black, and then the antenna with a mix of Grey Gree, and black, and Grey Green to highlight. Done!

I hope this is useful for you guys, and please make sure to share any tips or tricks you might have!

You can get your own copy of this figureĀ here.

Until the next time,

-Full Battle Rattle Miniatures

Leave a comment